top of page
  • zglazewski

Class Projects Topic Ideas

Updated: Apr 26, 2022

Initial ideas during week 1.


1. Music Appreciation


One option I have is to do something concerning music interest promotion. For example, promoting to elementary school children about the pros of learning an instrument and even to the school staff to adopt a music program for their students. Another route is just exposing obscure music genres that I personally like to people who may have never considered it before. Either way, I can use this topic in a variety of ways for each of the projects.


Photo Ideas:

I think a good route for this project is an infographic, showing the benefits of learning a new instrument. My target audience would be elementary school students since it is best to get them started at a young age. Another audience may be the school staff. My purpose is to persuade the children to learn a new instrument and suggest the adoption of a music program in the school to foster this learning environment.


Video Ideas:

A video project would best highlight the interesting sounds of different music genres, which I could use to my advantage to create exposure to the intricacies of some genres of music, such as video game music. My audience may be those who prefer lyrics over melody with a purpose to show them that the underlying features of song such as chord progression and melody can have just as deep an emotional impact as lyric. This purpose is more informative but also persuasive in some aspects.


Illustration Ideas:

I could make an illustration which shows the psychological benefits of music in general, especially in infants. So, my audience could be parents, or parents-to-be, with a purpose of promoting the use of music in the development of their children.




2. Cat Adoption


Another option I have is to encourage others to go and adopt cats from animal shelters. This is something I feel strongly about since I love cats and the lives of cats who aren't adopted at an early age don't always necessarily reach an optimal fate. More often than not, these older animals are put down to provide space for newer, younger animals, who are more likely to be adopted. Obviously, this applies to all animals which come from a shelter, but I specifically would like to focus on cats since they are my favorite.


So, for whatever project I decide to incorporate this topic, I will have families as my audience, since they are usually good candidates for adoption. Consequently, my purpose is to firstly persaude these families to adopt a cat and secondly to inform about why it is important for this adoption to occur.


Photo Ideas:
If I were to choose this topic for my photo project, I might take advantage of the fact that pictures of kittens are really cute. So, my audience may be younger children, with a purpose that they nag their parents to go and buy them a cat. I could also include photos of cats locked up in cages in shelters in an attempt to pull on the audience's heart strings.

Video Ideas:
If I were to choose this topic for my video project, I may highlight how fun cats can be, whether this is portrayed with an energetic and playful cat, or a display of the funny actions that cats take sometimes. Another important thing to convey is the independence of cats. This sort of display may appeal to busy adults who may not have time for the needs of a dependent dog, but instead may settle for an independent cat. So, I could portray these animals as more than something you take care of, but a small friend with attitude and personality.

Illustration Ideas:
If I were to choose this topic for my illustration project, I can utilize a representation of what happens to cats if they aren't adopted. So, my audience could be those who believe this sort of treatment is cruel and unnecessary, which could really apply to any human who receives the message. This however, may be an overarching theme for any of the projects I choose for this topic.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page